Salmon Re-Elected President of NARUC’s Commissioners Emeritus

WASHINGTON, D.C. – For the tenth straight year, Dr. Edward H. Salmon, a former New Jersey utility regulator, was elected President of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners’ (NARUC) Commissioners Emeritus organization.

Formed in 1979, the Commissioners Emeritus program represents former State public utility commissioners from around the country. It serves as a resource and network of experience for NARUC, its officers and members.

Dr. Salmon served six years as a State utility regulator and three years as President of the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities. During that time he became a highly active member of NARUC, and served as Vice President, President of Great Lakes Conference (16 states), Chairman of NARUC Executive Committee, and Founder of the Washington Action Committee.

In addition, Dr. Salmon served on the Board of Directors for the National Regulatory Research Institute and National Society of Rate of Return Analysts. Prior to his regulatory career, Dr. Salmon spent 26 years in government as a former Mayor, Freeholder Director, State Legislator, and a member of the Governor’s Cabinet.

“Ed has been actively involved with NARUC and the national utility arena for nearly twenty years,” said NARUC President Tony Clark of North Dakota. “He has been an invaluable resource and mentor to many in the organization. We are honored to have him continue to serve as President of NARUC’s Commissioners Emeritus.”

Also elected as officers of NARUC’s Commissioners Emeritus were Vice-President James Sullivan of Alabama and Secretary/Treasurer Sandra Hochstetter Byrd of Arkansas.

NARUC is a nonprofit organization founded 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC’s member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.

# # #